2012 United States Women’s Open Champion Na Yeon Choi Returns Home To South Korea, Calls 2016 Olympics Top Goal

As expected, 2012 US Women’s Open winner Na Yeon Choi returned home to South Korea to a champion’s welcome. With flowers right from getting off the airplane to press conferences, she was celebrated as a symbol of national pride. NYC will stay in Korea for one week before traveling to London to watch the 2012 Summer Olympics. More than being #1 or Player of the Year, she points to the 2016 Summer Olympics in Brazil as her top goal:

“My final goal is I want to play in the 2016 Olympics and get a medal under the Korean flag. That is my biggest goal right now. I mean, I can be like No. 1 in the world or Player of the Year, but my biggest dream is playing at the Olympics in 2016. That’s why I want to go to the Olympics this year and see what the feeling is like there. I want to just feel that.” – Na Yeon Choi

Here are a few pics of her coming home and showing off her shiny, USWO trophy:

3 thoughts on “2012 United States Women’s Open Champion Na Yeon Choi Returns Home To South Korea, Calls 2016 Olympics Top Goal

  1. Pingback: 2012 US Women's Open, Blackwolf Run, Kohler, WI - Page 27 - LPGA Tour Forum

    • Wow…that was a while ago. I honestly don’t remember exactly where I did. I assume you mean the one at the top. But I remember how I found it. I did an image search using Na Yeon’s name in hangul (Korean script), which pulled up a lot of images from stories in the Korean press. I found a number of instances of the top photo doing that. But I don’t remember exactly which story I pulled from. The picture was part of a photoshoot she did for LG Fashion. It was widely reported in South Korea: http://kstarfashion.com/archives/10286

Leave a Reply

