Maria Sharapova Dominant In First Match At 2012 Olympics; Agnieszka Radwanska Upset By Julia Goerges

Maria Sharapova

Maria Sharapova’s 2012 Wimbledon didn’t end the way she envisioned, crashing out in the 4th round courtesy of the big serving Sabine Lisicki. However, Masha didn’t achieve the career Grand Slam by remembering her worst days on court. She always thinks she can win no matter what. And she came out against the potentially tricky Shahar Peer and completely dismissed her, 6-2 6-0. Honestly, it could have been worse, as Masha made a few too many unforced errors even in victory. Still, she just has too many weapons for Peer to deal with. On a day when play was shortened due to inclement weather, Sharapova didn’t need much time to make it through to the 2nd round. I like Shahar a lot and wish she hadn’t drawn Masha in the first round. Unfortunately, she did. Still, she should be happy to represent her country.

Maria talked about how honored she was to be the flag bearer for Russia in the opening ceremony.

“The ceremony is something I’ll cherish for the rest of my life. Growing up, I think I was 10 or so, I was watching the ceremony, and I had this huge dream – I thought I must be really crazy – but I saw the Russian nation walking out, they all had small hats, berets then. I don’t remember who was carrying the flag then but I thought it was so cool, and that maybe one day I could do that. As I was walking there, it hit me, that memory of me watching on my small little TV in my room, just being so proud and hoping one day I could be there. I was waiting for that moment since I was a little girl.” – Maria Sharapova

Agnieszka Radwanska

There were 3 women playing on day 2 who were flag bearers for their country in the Opening Ceremony. Only Masha advanced. That Stephanie Vogt of Liechtenstein didn’t advance is not a huge surprise. That 2012 Wimbledon runner-up and world #2 Agnieszka Radwanska didn’t survive her first match is a huge surprise. Or is it? Those who follow tennis know that Julia Goerges established a reputation as a giant killer last year by twice beating Caroline Wozniacki when Caro was still ranked #1 and playing well. Perhaps, as they say in boxing, styles make fights. Aga and Caro both have a Martina Hingis-esque style of play. Maybe Julia just matches up well against that style. She was just crushing the ball against Aga, with 56 winners, including 20 aces. 20 ACES!! That’s more than Serena hit against Aga in the Wimbledon final. Julia is super-agressive and just pushes players like Aga and Caro back. So while Radwanska is overall the better player on tour, maybe stylistically, Goerges matches up well against her and was the worst player for her to draw in the first round.

Singles – First Round
Julia Goerges (GER) d. (2) Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) 75 67(5) 64
(3) Maria Sharapova (RUS) d. Shahar Peer (ISR) 62 60
Yaroslava Shvedova (KAZ) d. Simona Halep (ROU) 64 62
Timea Babos (HUN) d. Galina Voskoboeva (KAZ) 64 62
Anna Tatishvili (GEO) d. Stephanie Vogt (LIE) 62 60

Suspended due to rain
Ons Jabeur (TUN) leads (15) Sabine Lisicki (GER) 43
Varvara Lepchenko (USA) is tied with Veronica Cepede Royg (PAR) 75 67(6)

MARIA SHARAPOVA

JULIA GOERGES

AGNIESZKA RADWANSKA

SHAHAR PEER

SABINE LASICKI

VARVARA LEPCHENKO

 

One thought on “Maria Sharapova Dominant In First Match At 2012 Olympics; Agnieszka Radwanska Upset By Julia Goerges

  1. Pingback: 2012 Olympic Tennis - Page 3 - LPGA Tour Forum

Leave a Reply

