Serena Williams Doesn’t Think Caroline Wozniacki’s Imitation Of Her Was Done With Racist Intent – I Agree

I wasn’t even going to address this because I thought it was much ado about nothing, but since Serena Williams addressed the issue I thought why not give my quick two cents. I get the stereotypes involved in the conversation about Caroline Wozniacki’s imitation of Serena Williams, but I think Caro was just highlighting physical aspects about Serena which have been discussed, and admired, by many, many people including celebrities. I remember watching a Cedric the Entertainer comedy special where he talked about Serena’s endowments and made some jokes.  But in an admiring way. Lots of people have. Also, what people complaining about this who don’t watch tennis need to understand is that several tennis players imitate other players, including their idiosyncrasies. I honestly don’t believe Caro meant anything offensive or racist. It’s my understanding that they are friends. But let’s let Serena speak:

“I know Caro and I would call her my friend and I don’t think she meant anything racist by it. Roddick and Djokovic do [the imitation] all the time and Caro does it and now it’s racist?? At the end of the day I spend my time focused on things to become better and not bring me down.” – Serena Williams

2 thoughts on “Serena Williams Doesn’t Think Caroline Wozniacki’s Imitation Of Her Was Done With Racist Intent – I Agree

  1. I don’t think it was racist at all. I do think it might’ve been in bad taste. What if serena pulled her hair back to make an enormous forehead like Cato. Would she get offended?

Leave a Reply

