Petra Kvitova Survives First Round Of 2013 Australian Open; Injury Scare For Serena Williams

Petra Kvitova (click to enlarge)

I am always nervous watching Petra Kvitova play. I am a fan and I know she’s capable of brilliant tennis or suffering a head scratching loss. In the opening round of the 2013 Australian Open, my nerves were even more frayed because I knew 2010 Roland Garros winner Francesca Schiavone would not submit easily. And she didn’t, pushing Petra to 3 sets. Eventually, Kvitova triumphed, 6-4 2-6 6-2. Phew! I can relax for a day until her next match.

Serena Williams (click to enlarge)

The big news of the day on the women’s side was Serena Williams, who won love and love, rolling her ankle. The reverberations from an injury to Serena would be felt throughout the entire women’s draw. Honestly, I would want Serena healthy even if I were rooting for somebody else. In fact, I am rooting for Masha, Li Na and Ana Ivanovic. But I don’t want Serena, Vika, Aga or any other top challenger injured. I would want to be the best by beating the best. But we will see in her next match how much the ankle might affect her.

ALL PICS CLICK TO ENLARGE

PETRA KVITOVA

 

VICTORIA AZARENKA

 

YANINA WICKMAYER

 

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI

 

SERENA WILLIAMS

 

MARIA KIRILENKO

 

SLOANE STEPHENS

 

LAURA ROBSON

 

2 thoughts on “Petra Kvitova Survives First Round Of 2013 Australian Open; Injury Scare For Serena Williams

  1. Pingback: 2013 Australian Open (tennis) - LPGA Tour Forum

  2. Maria Kirilenko is beautiful as always, glad she’s as gace of adidas x stella mccartney line, coz she;s the original.

Leave a Reply

