Petra Kvitova Defeats Li Na At 2013 China Open, To Face Jelena Jankovic In Semifinals

Petra Kvitova (click to enlarge)

The quarterfinal contest between Petra Kvitova and Li Na at the 2013 China Open is the type of match I hate to love. Ultimately, I have to love it because it features two of my absolute favorite players. Since the retirement of Kim Clijsters, I’d say I have four players I root for the most; Petra Kvitova, Li Na, Maria Sharapova and Ana Ivanovic. Of course, I have lots of other favorites too…too many to name…but those four are at the head of the class for me. So ultimately I have to love seeing both Petra Kvitova and Li Na reach the quarters with an opportunity to go further. However, when matched against each other I hate that one of them will have their tournament ended. The most I can hope for is a good match. Luckily, that’s exactly what these two ladies delivered. In the end, Kvitova won a competitive three-setter, 4-6 6-2 6-4. Petra is on a bit of a run having just come off a title at the 2013 Toray Pan Pacific Open. Next up is former world #1 Jelena Jankovic. JJ cannot be counted out, but if Kvitova can keep playing at a high level, I’d love to see a potential final pitting her against Serena Williams. Before that can happen, Jankovic and Agnieszka Radwanska will have a lot to say about just who will reach the championship match. I hope for Kvitova vs Williams…but we shall see if that comes to fruition.

singles – Quarterfinals
[3] AGNIESZKA RADWANSKA (POL) D [7] ANGELIQUE KERBER (GER) | 7 – 6 (7) | 6 – 4 |  
[9] PETRA KVITOVA (CZE) D [4] NA LI (CHN) | 4 – 6 | 6 – 2 | 6 – 4 |  
[1] SERENA WILLIAMS (USA) D [6] CAROLINE WOZNIACKI (DEN) | 6 – 1 | 6 – 4 |  
[8] JELENA JANKOVIC (SRB) D LUCIE SAFAROVA (CZE) | 6 (3) – 7 | 6 – 4 | 6 – 4 |  

 

ALL PICS CLICK TO ENLARGE

PETRA KVITOVA

 

 

LI NA

 

AGNIESZKA RADWANSKA

 

SERENA WILLIAMS

 

JELENA JANKOVIC

 

 

Leave a Reply

