2014 WTA Finals Draw Ceremony

Caroline Wozniacki, Agnieszka Radwanska, Petra Kvitova, Serena Williams, Maria Sharapova, Ana Ivanovic, Eugenie Bouchard and Simona Halep


The WTA has settled in Singapore to celebrate a year of great tennis and have this season’s elite eight players duel it out at the 2014 WTA Finals (rebranded from the WTA Tour Championships). They held the draw ceremony,  splitting the octet into two quartets, a red and white group. The red group is led by world #1 and 2-time defending (and 4-time overall) champion Serena Williams. Filling out her group are Simona Halep, Eugenie Bouchard and Ana Ivanovic. The white group is topped by world #2 and 2004 champion Maria Sharapova. Filling out her group are 2011 champion Petra Kvitova, Agnieszka Radwanska and Caroline Wozniacki. In the event of an injury or some other kind of withdrawal, the first alternate is Angelique Kerber. The second alternate is Ekaterina Makarova. While Serena is the current #1, there is a chance at this event for Masha to reclaim the top spot. Each group will play round robin matches among themselves with the top two finishers advancing to the semifinals.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s