Roland Garros 2015 Day 9: Maria Sharapova, Petra Kvitova Suffer Fourth Round Upsets

Maria Sharapova (click to enlarge)

I started my blogging about Roland Garros 2015 with a post highlighting my top 4 favorite WTA players; Madison Keys, Petra Kvitova, Maria Sharapova and Simona Halep. Unfortunately, they are all now gone prior to the quarterfinals. Halep and Keys were already upset before today. After play completed on this day, Masha and Petra had joined them on the sidelines. Sharapova was beaten by the talented Lucie Safarova, 7-6 (3) 6-4. Lucie has been around for many years, but is only now starting to see more consistent Major success. She reached the Wimbledon semifinals last year, falling to fellow Czech Petra Kvitova. And speaking of Petra, she crashed out of Paris at the hands of the same player who knocked out Madison Keys, Timea Bacsinszky. After an opening set loss, Bacsinszky thoroughly dominated Petra, even serving up a bagel in the second set en route to a 2-6 6-0 6-3 victory. Although she is experiencing a renaissance in her career, Timea has not come out of nowhere at Roland Garros despite this being her first Major quarterfinal. For those who closely follow the WTA, Bacsinszky is a multiple winner already this year. That said, all of my top 4 are gone. Buuuuuuut…I like lots and lots and lots of players…it’s just that my top 4 could only include…well, 4. If I had made it  my top 5, Ana Ivanovic would have been in it. Had I made it my top 10 or 12, Garbine Muguruza would have been in it. Both of them are still playing at Roland Garros 2015. So bidding Madison, Petra, Masha and Simona adieu, I root on for Ana and Garbine. A couple of closing comments on Sharapova. I loved how Masha didn’t make a bunch of excuses for her loss, just totally owned being outplayed on this day. Wish more players did the same. And lastly, I generally don’t get terribly caught up in what players are wearing, but I must admit to being a fan of the Breton top Masha wore for Roland Garros. Very stylish.

 

ALL PICS CLICK TO ENLARGE

1 SERENA WILLIAMS (won 1-6 7-5 6-3 vs Sloane Stephens)

 

13 LUCIE SAFAROVA (won 7-6 (3) 6-4 vs 2 Maria Sharapova)

 

23 TIMEA BACSINSZKY (won 2-6 6-0 6-3 vs 4 Petra Kvitova)

 

21 GARBINE MUGURUZA (won 6-3 6-4 vs 28 Flavia Pennetta)

 

Leave a Reply

