Madison Keys, Garbine Muguruza Get Off To Strong Starts At 2016 Australian Open

Garbine Muguruza (click to enlarge)

I was very excited for day two of the 2016 Australian Open, as probably my three favorite players, Madison Keys, Garbine Muguruza and Simona Halep, would be in action. Up first were Maddie and Mugu. If Garbine was feeling the ill effects of her foot injury, it didn’t stop her from laying down an emphatic 6-0 6-4 win over Estonia’s Anett Kontaveit. I love that Mugu is being coached by Sam Sumyk. If they can duplicate, or even exceed, the success he had with Victoria Azarenka in her best years, Gabi will be a future world #1 and multiple Major winner.

“Every time I hear I’m like ‘puhhhhh, yeah, whatever’. I really don’t know what to say. I feel good when people think that I can do it, but I’m like, ‘yeah, we’ll see.’” – Garbine Muguruza, responding to people saying she has what it takes to be world #1

Madison Keys (click to enlarge)

It’s also been said by many that 20-year old Madison Keys is a future world #1. That might be true, but I was sweating a little when she was down a couple of set points against Kazahkstan’s Zarina Diyas. But the talented American would battle back from 3-5 down to force a first set tiebreak, which she won. From then on, Maddie blitzed through the second set to take out Diyas, 7-6 (5) 6-1. It took Keys a little while to get going, committing too many first set unforced errors, but once she found her groove she showed why there is nobody in the world she can’t hit with when she’s on her game.

“I think being down set point almost helped me. I thought, ‘You’re down, keep playing. You can only lose the set.’ I definitely had to dig deep and figure it out.” – Madison Keys

ALL PICS CLICK TO ENLARGE

15 MADISON KEYS d. Zarina Diyas, 7-6 (5) 6-1

 

3 GARBINE MUGURUZA d. Anett Kontaveit, 6-0 6-4

 

Leave a Reply

