Madison Keys Moves Into Round Of 16 At Roland Garros 2016; Kiki Bertens Continues Upset Run

Madison Keys (click to enlarge)

Not only is American Madison Keys my favorite active player on the WTA, I am starting to have even more confidence in her ability than I already had. Case in point, I took the risk of waiting until the end of the first week of Roland Garros 2016 to post about her. It’s similar to what I do with Serena Williams. I’m so confident in Serena’s ability to make at least the semifinals of events that I reason I can wait to post about her. I won’t go that far with Madison because as my top fave, I simply like posting about her. I just had a feeling this year she would reach the round of 16 (rd 4) for the first time in Paris. With a 7-6 (3) 6-3 win over the talented Monica Puig of Puerto Rico, Keys did just that. Maddie is coming off a runner-up finish to Serena at Rome. When she is healthy and limits unforced errors, the 21-year old Keys looks like a future Major champion.

Kiki Bertens (click to enlarge)

The 15th seeded Madison Keys will get no rest in the next round as she will face Kiki Bertens. The 24-year old Dutchwoman opened Roland Garros by knocking out the #3 women’s seed, Angelique Kerber. Kiki followed that up by ousting the tough Camila Giorgi. She advances to the round of 16 with an emotional 6-2 3-6 10-8 upset of 29th seed rising star Daria Kasatkina. While on paper Maddie has the advantage, when a player like Bertens is on a roll, sometimes it’s just destiny that they pull off an unexpected quarterfinal or semifinal run. Take the upsets Kiki already has pulled off plus the fact that she came into Paris after winning the title at the Nuremberg Cup and you have a player on a serious roll.

 

ALL PICS CLICK TO ENLARGE

KIKI BERTENS d. 29 Daria Kasatkina, 6-2 3-6 10-8

 

15 MADISON KEYS d. Monica Puig, 7-6 (3) 6-3

 

Leave a Reply

