Angelique Kerber Edges Madison Keys In 2015 Family Circle Cup Final

Angelique Kerber (click to enlarge)

At least I learned something about my fandom today. When Li Na retired, I had a lot of players from whom to choose as my top favorite. I settled on a foursome of Madison Keys, Petra Kvitova, Simona Halep and Ana Ivanovic. But following her loss to Jelena Jankovic in Indian Wells and today in the final of the 2015 Family Circle Cup to Angelique Kerber, it’s clear to me that Maddie stands alone on top. It was an incredibly dramatic match, won in the end by Angie, 6-2 4-6 7-5. All congratulations to Kerber, who earned this win with world class defense and steady play. Still, as the final point was won, after Keys lost a 4-1 final set lead, I sat blankly staring at the television for ten minutes. It was a tough loss to swallow. I’ve only felt like that when my top favorites over the years lose…like Monica Seles, Kim Clijsters, Hana Mandlikova, Li Na and now, Madison Keys. I should give more praise to Angie right now as she was the victor on this day…just stings a little too much for me to forget what could have been for Maddie.

ALL PICS CLICK TO ENLARGE

5 ANGELIQUE KERBER (won 6-2 4-6 7-5 vs 7 Madison Keys)

One thought on “Angelique Kerber Edges Madison Keys In 2015 Family Circle Cup Final

Leave a comment